Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy will formally launch the scheme in the remaining Srikakulam, East Godavari, Krishna, Nellore, Chittoor and Anantapur districts respectively. Another 234 diseases have been included in the Aarogyasri scheme which covers 2,200 diseases so far. With this, a total of 2,434 diseases fall under Aarogyasri. If the hospital bill exceeds one thousand rupees, the entire bill will be paid by the government.

Chief Minister Jagan had assured during the last elections that Aarogyasri would be applied if the cost of treatment exceeds Rs 1,000. It was launched on January 3 this year as a pilot project in West Godavari district. The scheme was launched on July 16 in Kadapa, Kurnool, Prakasam, Guntur, Vizianagaram and Visakhapatnam districts where a total of 2,059 diseases, including 1,059 existing diseases and the addition of new ones. Since then, Aarogyasri has formulated policies for tough implementation, addressing a number of issues.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *