Hyderabad: The Bharatiya Janata Party candidate M Raghunandan Rao has wrested the seat from TRS in Dubbak assembly bypoll with a razor thin margin of 1000 plus votes. Counting of votes in four EVMs has to be taken up as there were some technical issues earlier. The victory of Rao has not yet been declared officially.

Right from the beginning, it was clear that it would be a close call with both the parties running neck to neck in the 23-round counting process. The TRS nominee S Sujatha trailed behind with a slender margin, but gained subsequently. However, in the last three or four rounds Raghunandan Rao established lead.

Meanwhile, TRS working president and IT and Industries Minister K T Rama Rao on Tuesday said the party accepts the verdict of the people in favour of the BJP in the Dubbak by-election.

“In the coming days, we will analyse the reasons for the party’s failure at the hustings and take corrective measures. We had emerged victorious in several elections and by-elections in the past six years. When we win, we don’t get overwhelmed by it, and similarly, when we lose, we will not be disillusioned,” Rama Rao said at a brief press conference at Telangana Bhavan, the party headquarters here.

Stating that the TRS government will continue with its welfare and developmental programmes with renewed vigour, the party working president said the aim of any party contesting elections is to win. “We also did the same, but the public sentiment was in favour of BJP. The Dubbak verdict should also serve as an eye-opener for us,” he said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *