The ruling NDA in Bihar was ahead of its rivals in more than half of the state’s 243 assembly seats, with the BJP appearing set to outperform its senior alliance partner JD(U) headed by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, according to trends available so far.

The Election Commission said that the counting of votes will take longer than usual and continue till late in the night because of 63 per cent increase in the number of EVMs. As trends from all 243 seats became available, the NDA constituents were ahead in 125, with BJP candidates leading the table in 72 seats and the JD(U) in only 47. 

Here are the LIVE updates on Bihar Assembly Election Results 2020:

18:25 pm: As far as Bihar is concerned, on the whole 7737 scheduled rounds were there, of which 4858 have been completed. 119 constituencies have done more than half of the work which was there for counting: Deputy Election Commissioner, Ashish Kundra

18:03 pm: Bihar is going to get its own government and nobody can stop it. I request chief minister whose exit is confirmed, to stop calling returning officers to slow down the counting of votes. He can only delay his defeat: Manoj Jha, Rashtriya Janata Dal MP

17:53 pm: Latest EC trends show neck-and-neck fight between BJP and RJD to become single largest party.

17:52 pm: Latest Trends: NDA – 121, MGB – 111, Others – 09

17:02 pm: BJP’s tact of using Asaduddin Owaisi’s party in the Bihar elections has succeeded to an extent. All secular parties should be alert about vote cutter Owaisi Sahab: Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury

16:50 pm: EVM system is robust, accurate & dependable. This has always been my view. I stand by it. There have been doubters of the EVM from across political political parties, particularly when the results don’t go in their favour. Till now no has demonstrated scientifically their claims: Karti Chidambaram

15:59 pm: BJP Candidate Awdhesh Singh has defeated RJD candidate Dev Kumar Chaurasiya by 5,231 votes in Hajipur constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *