The BJP won 1,261 Panchayat Samiti seats while the Congress bagged 1,181 seats of the 2,839 seats of which results were declared by the State Election Commission so far, out of the total 4,371 seats for which counting votes were being held in 21 districts of Rajasthan on Tuesday.

The counting of votes to elect the members of Panchayat Samitis and Zila Parishads is still underway,” a state election commission spokesperson said.

As many as 287 independent candidates and 48 Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP) candidates also won the Panchayat Samiti member seats.

In the Zila Parishad election, which was held simultaneously, the ruling Congress in the state has won 10 seats, whereas the BJP got four seats so far of the total 636 seats. 

The polling to elect a total of 636 Zila Parishad members and 4371 Panchayat Samiti members were held in four phases in 21 districts of Ajmer, Banswara, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dungarpur, Hanumangarh, Jaisalmer, Jalore, Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Nagaur, Pali, Pratapgarh, Rajsamand, Sikar, Tonk and Udaipur.

The counting of votes for all the phases began at 9 am today at all district headquarters. The election for the head or chief of Panchayat will be held on December 10 and the election of the deputy chief will be conducted on December 11.

These election results will clear which of the two – BJP and Congress – dominate the rural areas of Rajasthan. The Ashok Gehlot government of Rajasthan has been alleging that the BJP is constantly trying to topple its government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *