On the first day of the Monsoon Session, 17 Lok Sabha MPs tested positive for Covid 19 today. These MPs, 12 of whom belong to the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), had been tested on September 13-14 ahead of the session. Two MPs belonging to the YSR Congress Party and one each from the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK), the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party (RLP), and the Shiv Sena.This is the full list of the MPs who have tested positive on day 1 of the Monsoon session:

  • Sukhbir Singh Jaunpuria – BJP
  • Hanuman Beniwal – RLP
  • Meenakshi Lekhi – BJP
  • Sukanata Majumdar – BJP
  • Anant Kumar Hegde – BJP
  • Goddeti Madhavi – YRSC
  • Shri Pratap Rao Jadav – Shiv Sena
  • Janardan Singh – BJP
  • Bidyut Baran Mahoto – BJP
  • Pradan Baruah – BJP
  • N Reddeppa – YRSC
  • Selvam. G – DMK
  • Pratap Rao Patil – BJP
  • Ram Shankar Katheria – BJP
  • Parvesh Sahib Singh – BJP
  • Satya Pal Singh – BJP
  • Rodmal Nagar – BJP

One of the infected MPs, the BJP’s Sukanta Majumdar, tweeted his positive status yesterday.The rest of the results came in since. Around 200 of the 785 MPs are above the age of 65 years, the population vulnerable to coronavirus.

The Lok Sabha session has been adjourned till 3 pm for tomorrow.

The parliament session is being held amid huge safety measures that include staggered seating of the MPs in chambers of both Houses to maintain physical distancing. A mobile app has been introduced to register their attendance and seats in the house have been separated with poly-carbon sheets.

Ahead of the session, all members were requested to get themselves tested for COVID-19.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *